Upper Oconee Council

Download a list of the Upper Oconee Council Members

Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between the council, Georgia Environmental Protection Division, and the Georgia Department of Community Affairs

Vision and Goals (Revised August 11, 2010)

Summary and Materials from Upper Oconee Council Meetings

Upper Oconee Council Fact Sheets

The Upper Oconee Council will develop a regional water plan for 13 counties in the Upper Oconee Watershed - Baldwin, Barrow, Clarke, Greene, Hancock, Jackson, Laurens, Morgan, Oconee, Putnam, Walton, Washington, and Wilkinson. These counties rely on surface or groundwater resources within the Upper Oconee region.

The Upper Oconee Council is comprised of residents of the 13 counties who were appointed by the Governor, Lt. Governor, and Speaker of the House to prepare a regional water plan. After the regional water plan is adopted, Georgia Environmental Protection Division permits and Georgia Environmental Facilities Authority grants and loans for water projects will be guided by the plan.

Coosa - North Georgia Middle Chattahoochee Metro North Georgia Savannah - Upper Ogeechee Upper Flint Middle Ocmulgee Upper Oconee Lower Flint - Ochlockonee Suwannee - Satilla Altamaha Coastal Georgia